top of page

Inauguration Day

This morning, for the final time of the 80th session, the Citizens took the House and Senate floors to deliver final debate before the celebration of the Inauguration. The Citizens then gathered to listen to our guest speaker, former at-large Houston City Council member, Amanda Edwards. As a City Council Member, Amanda focused on citywide efforts to cultivate technology, innovation, and public transit, and she shared with the Citizens the critical need for their voices in public service as the next generation of servant leaders.

At noon, the House and Senate came together for a special joint session of the Bluebonnet Girls State Legislature to inaugurate their newly-elected state officials. The Honorable Jessica Crawford, Judge - 2nd 25th Judicial District Court, joined us to administer the Oaths of Office and swear in our 2024 Texas Bluebonnet Girls State elected officials. She spoke on the importance of women in government and patriotism. Claire Noel, Speaker of the House, and Sofi Udawala, President of the Senate, adjourned the joint legislative session, closing out House and Senate for the week.

The afternoon consisted of County and State-wide Functioning, including several county-wide dance parties across the state. The highlight of Statewide functioning was a college and career fair. We hosted college admissions representatives from colleges across the state of Texas and had networking sessions for Citizens interested in careers in medicine, education, engineering, law/intelligence, government/politics, business/finance, and music.

The day closed with the entire 51st state gathered in Jackson for the final talent show. In addition to sixteen Citizen talent acts, the girls were treated to six "susprise" performances from the Girls State Staff and Counselors. After the talent show, Citizens returned to their cities for a final celebration with their counselors (and surprise cake!).

Congratulations to the Texas Bluebonnet Girls State 2024 elected officials:

Governor: Adhia Da Silva Agostinho, City F
Lieutenant Governor: Contessa Barron, City K
Attorney General: Bareera Saif, City N
Comptroller of Public Accounts: Reagan McDonald, City M
Commissioner of General Land Office: Daniela Laing, City L
Commissioner of Agriculture: Harper Mau, City N
Railroad Commissioner: Carly Krothe, City A
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals: Mary-Claire Finch, City I
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court: Adeline Shelton, City J

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page